About Us

The library is an academic unit of the Open University of Tanzania. The major mission is to provide high quality information services, which support teaching, learning, research, and consultancy services to the community. And it plays a vital role in the local learning community by working in partnership with other information providers.

The Open University of Tanzania Library has three Departments namely Readers and Technical Services, Documentation, Regional and Outreach Services.

The University Library service network comprise of the Main Library at the Head Office, Mini libraries in the Regional and Coordinating Centres and Tanzania Library Services Board (TLSB) Network that is accessible under special arrangements.

In the Regions where there are no TLSB libraries the university has requested some public institutions to stock the learning materials in order to meet the informational needs of our students. Among these are :Kibaha Education Centre-Coast, and Central Peoples Library of Zanzibar and Pemba.

Information Resources Available

The Library website acts as a gateway to a wealth of research and learning materials, including Electronic Journals, Open Course Ware, Electronic Books, Electronic Theses and Dissertations and Open Access Resources.


Membership and access to library services is open to all Non-degree, Undergraduate and Graduate students, Academic, Research and Administrative staff of the university and alumnae. Other users such as visiting Researchers and Members of other Universities are allowed to use the library at the discretion of the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Learning Technology and Regional Services), Director of the Library Services or Director of Regional Centres.

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday from 8:45AM to 9:00 PM